Stick radio's vs Pistol radio's.

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim_Duggan

Anyone out there made the switch from using pistol type transmitters, to 2 stick radio's and if so any regrets? Pro's / cons?

I've heard of cases of going from sticks to pistol successfully but not cases of the other way around.

The reason for this post;

I'm currently using an aging JR R1 transmitter and feel it's time for an upgrade. I want to switch to the now well proven FASST system & I'm trying to decide on going with either a Futaba 3PKS, 4PK or 3VCS.I have been using pistol radio's since I was about 10 years old, and while I can use sticks occasionally (like when I did r/c car repairs when I worked in a LHS) I've never raced r/c boats with a stick set. I don't fly Heli or planes so that doesn't play a factor for me at all. Is it possible to reprogram the brain after 27 or so years, or just stick with a pistol set?

All comments welcome.

I started out boat racing in the late 80's with a Futaba Attack radio. Used it for years. Then make the switch to a wheel radio, and used it for years. I've used the 3pdf and I really like my 3pj with a 2.4 module in it. I now use a 3vcs and I love it. BUT it is all about what you are comfortable with. Use what you know and don't fix what's not broke.

BB

Last edited by a moderator:
Listen to the Bird. If you're familiar with the wheel style radio, don't throw a wrench in the gears now. The boat you save could by your own ;)

A wheel radio is the one with the pistol grip and steering wheel on the side instead of the twin sticks like an airplane style radio

Hello everybody .