Sport 40 turn fin bracket

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raydee

I need to make my Sport 40 turn fin bracket today. I have both .125" and .187" Structural aluminum angle. Do you think the .187 is overkill?

hey ray

not sure on bracket size would tell you if i knew but i'm new to hydros been in rc boats for 24 years and i'm refinishing my first hydro an old steve muck i think from the late 80's. let me know how it goes and what you use i might be getting a turn fin from mike hughes and i'll have to make a bracket my self so keep us up to date i'll start post pics of mine soon as i go. good luck!

hey ray not sure on bracket size would tell you if i knew but i'm new to hydros been in rc boats for 24 years and i'm refinishing my first hydro an old steve muck i think from the late 80's. let me know how it goes and what you use i might be getting a turn fin from mike hughes and i'll have to make a bracket my self so keep us up to date i'll start post pics of mine soon as i go. good luck!
Id use 1/4 jus measured a Tyndall to be sure and its 1/4

I need to make my Sport 40 turn fin bracket today. I have both .125" and .187" Structural aluminum angle. Do you think the .187 is overkill?
Ray, If you are going to use structural aluminum I would suggest you use nothing less than 1/4" thick aluminum. This is an item that you want absolutley NO FLEX in when the boat is running. All of the brackets that I have made are made from 6061 barstock aluminum, which is a bit stronger than the structural aluminum. Also, don't use the aluminum angle unless it has a nice radius in the bottom of the angle..............something else that makes it stronger. Just my opinion............