Sport 40 Hop and Prop test.

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Samuel Hagan JR

Did some testing today with props and other stuff and I noticed the boat hops in the straights. Rides smooth as silk in the turns.

I noticed the boat hopping significantly went away with a prop I worked on. It still hoped but picked up a great amount of speed.

What are some other ways to get rid of boat hop?

Prop has too much lift. Kill the lift from the propeller and add tip cup for speed.

Last edited by a moderator:
How do you get rid of lift on the prop?

I cupped the prop I worked on and gained 4 mph. I just need to get rid of the lift.

Samuel, I'm FAR from an expert but my spt.40 was running pretty "loose". It never blew off but I thought more weight in the front might settle it down- WRONG- it just slowed down and started hopping in the straights. I'm going back to the old setup-about 4 Oz. lighter on the nose. If you tell folks what prop you are using they may be better able to help. I used a X448/2 @ 4300 Ft elevation.

Props I started with are

S/B X447 2 blade 54 MPH..... little hop

Sholund X447 3 Blade

5.29 cup

3.55 Pitch

45.86mm dia. 57 MPH.... Ton of hop

X450 2 blade with some mods and cup. 58MPH.. Little hop.

Mark suggested a long time ago a X450 3 blade. I'm going to try the same modes I did with the 2 blade and see how it does. I'll post pics of the X450 2 blade.

Just my opinion,,, but 3 bladed props will have more lift than a two blade.

To reduce lift, take some material off the trailing edge, more from the hub end and tapered to full blade at the tip

Be sure the blades are thinned and sharpened properly, a thick dull blade will create problems also.

Sounds like your X-450/2 works well.