Needle help

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ben Ballard

Ok, before iget to the problem keep in mind I am a newbie. Have a picco p.67, muck pipe set at 11 7/8", x460/2 prop on a Phil Thomas bud T5, on 50% nitro. When I get the needle set to make the engine come to the pipe it blows the plug. If I richen the needle it does not come to the pipe. I have tried pipe length from 10 1/4" to where I am at now 1/8" at a time. Stock picco carb... Any suggestions? Strut set at 1 1/8" to bottom with 1/8" angle. When it does come to the pipe it is about mid straightaway. Adjusting the needle in 1/8 turn incraments. Do I need more pipe length? Is that carb just that touchy on needle? Help its get'n exspensive!

1455/3, X455, X457/3, 245 may also work. It sounds like too much prop as the pipe length should be good. Mark will get you going if you order from him. Good luck!!

Brad

Ok, before iget to the problem keep in mind I am a newbie. Have a picco p.67, muck pipe set at 11 7/8", x460/2 prop on a Phil Thomas bud T5, on 50% nitro. When I get the needle set to make the engine come to the pipe it blows the plug. If I richen the needle it does not come to the pipe. I have tried pipe length from 10 1/4" to where I am at now 1/8" at a time. Stock picco carb... Any suggestions? Strut set at 1 1/8" to bottom with 1/8" angle. When it does come to the pipe it is about mid straightaway. Adjusting the needle in 1/8 turn incraments. Do I need more pipe length? Is that carb just that touchy on needle? Help its get'n exspensive!
Is the tear drop shaped spray bar oriented correctly?

opening facing into the engine, not FWD toward carb opening?

Is the tear drop low speed orifice actually opening as the carb barrel opens?

I would also check the bearings, if not just replace them just to be sure they are good.