GYRO USE ON ADJUSTABLE CANARDS

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shane Bastick

Does anyone have a particular brand of Gyro they prefer, for using on canards, i.e. like the futaba series of Piezo etc, and is it mixed in with the use of a 3rd channel, is a Gyro/servo combo the way to go

thanks

Shane

kind of a double post but a piezo is what was recommended to me by a heli guy not the head lock type.

Last edited:
I am also a RC heli pilot and I use Futaba on my helis. I have not tried gyro's on boats yet but agree with Hugh (the Heading hold, lock type is not appropriate for the boat application). So you would need to deactivate the HHold feature to suit your application. Also keep in mind many gyros need a specific voltage range to operate properly (or you will toast the unit). I would think the GY240 would be a good unit for our boats.

Check the "for sale " sections on Helifreak and Runryder (heli sites). You should be able to pick up a GY240 or a GY401 for a very good price. No need to buy new.

Steve Ball

The FE Scale guys are having good luck using a servo/gyro controlled canard wing; however the nitro guys are getting a lot of chatter movement in the canard do to the engine vibration affecting the gyro.

May be a dumb question, but why not use a pitch control for r/c subs instead of a heli gyro? They are smaller, adjustable sensitivity and provide the exact function needed for canards.

Mike

Thanks guys,

I was talking to a heli expert here in Australia, and they recommended a Futaba 520 gyro together with a really fast digital servo - as the gryo would benefit from the ultra fast servo to keep up with angle of attack changes, so I'll give this one ago and report on how it goes