flex shaft and hydro ????

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmunn

I am a newbie and this is my First attempt to switch from a square drive and engine swap..

1)What type of solder do i use to re-solder a new flexi back into the brass ferrul and any tips you guys may have to help me with this process.

2)If my collet that is on the engine is only 1/2-3/4" from the end of the stuffing tube but I can still get the outer tightening nut off will this be o-k.

3)what spacing do i need to leave between the strut and the ferrel or anywhere along the drive line for cable windup

4)The ops that I am installing has some type of exhaust cooler on it with 2 nipples on each side how does this get plumbed using coolant lines.I think I just route the lines so when it comes out the coolant jacket on the engine it passes through the header coolant jacket one way and you hook 2 of the nipples on the same side with a short piece of coolant line and the water comes out the opposite side and out the side of the boat.

Does this sound correct??

Thanks for now guys I will probably have more Q's

Terry

c'mon guys 87 hits and no help.

i have had some help with the soldering part but what about the other questions.

Thanks

Terry

I am a newbie and this is my First attempt to switch from a square drive and engine swap..

1)What type of solder do i use to re-solder a new flexi back into the brass ferrul and any tips you guys may have to help me with this process.

YOU ARE SWITCHING FROM A SQUARE DRIVE TO A REGULAR COLLET FLEX SHAFT? USUALLY THE FLEX SHAFT HAS THE STEEL PROP SHAFT ALREADY ON THE CABLE SO NO SOLDERING TO A NEW FERRULE WOULD BE NEEDED.

2)If my collet that is on the engine is only 1/2-3/4" from the end of the stuffing tube but I can still get the outer tightening nut off will this be o-k.