Boat setup help

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chriscrash

Supporting Member
I just read Al Hobbs thread about turbo glow plugs and it made me think about boat racing in general. I have been racing since 2005. And almost twenty years later I am still a novice. I race rc off-road and oval in the off season for the past 4 years. My knowledge of car setup in both classes of car racing definitely supersedes my understating of boat set up. The amount of information for car racing general setup explanations and specific setup is extremely abundant online. I spent 4 hours online this week trying to understand boat strut depth, props, pipe length, needle settings and everything in between. This weekend a seasoned racer asked if I was pinching water to my head on the sport 40. What?!?!?

I know the variables in boat racing are immense. But it would be great to have dedicated pages to specific classes of boat racing that could help a new person get more ideas to help them succeed. Or even general pages to understanding nitro and gas boat setups.

Joe Petro has a great explanation for his specific pipe which I have started to use for other gas pipe setups.

I have raced rc cars, planes, and boats. Rc boat racing is by far the most challenging even when the boat is working as it should.

The point of this whole rambling is that if I was a brand new boating guy in a club of me and me alone, where could I go and find set up advice? This may be a dumb post. But I’m still lost after 20 years of boating. I’m not lost in rc car racing.